What Really Matters

Today’s reality is about: What is important and what really matters?

Throughout our lives we struggle with making a living and sometimes forget what really matters. With Christmas once again upon us, it reminded me of the time when I was a little boy writing letters to Santa.

As an adult my wish list has changed, but the question is, does it really matter? Notice the sarcastic approach to my letter:

Dear Santa, God and Whoville,

I’ve been sort-of-a-good boy, well ok then, I’m a man. That’s pretty close to being good, wouldn’t you say?

All boys are good right ? Right?

Anyway, I would like just a few things this year. Really, the list isn’t that bad.

First and foremost, $100 million, so I can start Pre-Production of my screenplay – check it out here, it’s a mix genre film. Be careful, for its a screaming horror combined with a captivating science-fiction plot, sure to make you shake in your boots.

Read my LOGLINE

Anyway, let’s move on…

Now, If you can’t afford $100 million, just buy my screenplay for $150,000, along with my credits . That’s sure to make me happy! Don’t forget to give the screenplay to the famous Directors and/or Producers. They would love to make BLACK ANGELS into a blockbuster film, guaranteed to jolt you from the dead.

Don’t worry, it’s not my first screenplay. I assure you won’t be disappointed.

Oh, yes.

I’m kind of loving the new Mercedes S Class 4-Door Sedan S63 AMG 4-MATIC with twin turbo V-8. It would be a dream to drive around in. I mean, after all, my lawyer is driving one. So, why can’t I?

Humour is always good in our lives, so how about the book, “Universe” by Close Encounters Studios. The more humour I can get my hands on, the better.

And well, you already know I love all things ALIEN, including NASA and SPACE EXPLORATION. If I could get a trip into Space or possibly see Cape Canaveral (located next door to Kennedy Space Center) and/or Virgin Galactic, it would certainly be a plus.

I could use some new running shoes. You know, the ones I can never afford.

And yes.

I lost my bike previously, so I would be gratefully to have another one. Unfortunately the one I’m interested in is at least $1800. Sorry about that, sounds like I’m falling into the bracket considered as “high-maintenance”. Yes, I understand this is a little expensive, but no more mountain bikes for me. I just realized last week I’m getting older. Go figure!

And –

It’s time to upgrade to a better home computer by APPLE, you know, the new one. Its only $ 2749.

Wait! I have a better idea. Stop all this madness ! Scrap all the above!

Let’s concentrate on just one gift and lets make it a priority:

“I would like all the sick children in the world to be healthy immediately.”

Yes, you heard right, make ALL CHILDREN in the world FREE from SICKNESS and DEATH.

Ok? Do that instead of the materialistic things above.

And send a message to all the movie, hockey and football stars, billionaires, entrepreneurs of the “Shark Tank” and “Dragons Den“, famous directors and producers to send a gift to the sick children of their local hospitals.

Send this forward – Lets help our sick children.

Oh !

And one last thing, I would like to retire back home in the Okanagan. Really tired of having to wake-up to minus -40C weather, up here in the Great White North. As much as I love Canada, my bones need a little warmth.

Ok. So, I believe I’ve covered everything.

Don’t forget!

Every child deserves to see the world and live a full life. Each requires to be healthy, never going to bed hungry, have shelter & clothing and receive unconditional love. Let’s make their lives a happy one!

Alright then, I believe that’s it. Parents should never see their child die before them.

Sincerely,
Bari Demers
(In loving memory of my daughter, Jenni Michelle Demers – Nov 5 1980)

IMG_2805.JPG

5 thoughts on “What Really Matters

  1. Hey Bari : Best Dear Santa Letter Ever: I will never forget that phone call. I still have the copy of the poem I wrote for Jenni and gave to you and Pat. I will never forget the tiny white casket, ever. How broken everyone’s hearts felt. Still feel it today 34 years later. My blessings to you and Pat. Love your sister Sabrina

Leave a Reply

